ALLER ANFANG

Der Weg der Hebammen

a film by Karin Berghammer
TV documentary |  60 min |  AT  | 2020
FREE TV PREMIERE 20 December, 202023:05 at ORF 2

SYNOPSIS

Midwives accompany mothers and fathers on their journey, helping them prepare for one of the most exciting days of their lives and providing advice and support to new parents. It is a highly sought-after profession for which up to 16 times more young women are currently applying than there are places available.

ALLER ANFANG introduces you to four of the chosen ones and, avoiding all clichés, delves deeply into the question of the conditions under which such an existential event should take place. 

Gloria is a second-year student. She is doing her internship at the Wilhelminenspital in Vienna. The maternity ward there is buzzing with activity. The young woman doesn't let that disturb her. She hurries from room to room, caring for newborns and looking after their parents. She makes rounds, prepares infusions and examines a placenta. In the single-bed room, she is allowed to do the perineal protection, and in the operating room, she takes the baby she has just delivered directly from the surgeon's hands.

Josephine has already gained various professional experiences. She made the decision to become a midwife after her own child was born. During the first year of her studies, she realized that a birth like the one she experienced is unfortunately not the norm. The reflective young woman thinks a lot about the conditions under which midwives work in a healthcare system trimmed for efficiency, and about what needs to change.

We accompany Magdalena through her third year of studies. During an internship at the birth center in Vienna Hietzing, she looks after Lena, who gives birth to her second child there. The baby comes into the world in a bathtub and surprisingly turns out to be "a girl after all". After receiving her diploma, Magdalena is proud to call herself a midwife. She will soon be flying to Athens, where she will gain her first independent experience in her dream job in a refugee camp.

Esa already wanted to become a midwife when she was in kindergarten. At that time, it was because she liked babies, but today she is primarily interested in supporting the women. The fact that they are sometimes subjected to abuse makes her angry. Her commitment is therefore not limited to the sunny side of the birth process. She also courageously tackles sensitive issues such as violence in obstetrics.

At the University of Applied Sciences, they rehearse emergency situations with life-like props and are familiarized with the latest scientific findings by dedicated teaching staff. Still too little of this is implemented in the practice of obstetrical reality. In most cases, however, this is not due to a lack of commitment on the part of the sometimes quite resigned midwives. According to the lecturer Bernadette Brieskorn, "no one can manage to take good care of three women at the same time."

If men had children, they would certainly each have their own coach. Karin Berghammer, scriptwriter and director of ALLER ANFANG , is deeply convinced of this. As a former midwife, the filmmaker knows exactly what she's talking about. The start of life shapes every family and ultimately us as a society, so it's high time we take a closer look at this area of the health care system.

WATCH HERE

ONLINE:

DVD:

VERTRIEB

ORF Enterprise
Würzburggasse 30
1136 Wien
+43 1 87077-14500
enterprise@orf.at
www.enterprise.ORF.at

CREW

DIRECTED & WRITTEN BY
Karin Berghammer

SCRIPT CONSULTANT
Barbara Eppensteiner

PRODUCTION MANAGER
Konstantin Seitz

DOP
Judith Stehlik, aac
Caroline Bobeck, aac

SOUND
Ines Vorreiter, Nora Czamler, Lenka Mikulova

EDITOR
Cordula Werner, aea

COMPOSITION
Christof Dienz

MARIMBA
Vinzent Dienz

SOUND EDITING, SOUND DESIGN & SOUND MIXING
Georg Tomandl

GRADING
Johannes Püller

PRESS

IJK presse + marketing
Ines Kratzmüller
+43 699 12 64 13 47
ines@kratzmueller.com
www.ijk-presse.com

PRODUCTION

IN COPRODUCTION WITH

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

SUPPORTED BY

© berg hammer film 2020

ALLER ANFANG

Der Weg der Hebammen

ein Film von Karin Berghammer
TV-Dokumentarfilm |  60 min |  AT  | 2020
EA 20. Dezember 2020, 23:05 auf ORF 2

SYNOPSIS

Hebammen begleiten den Weg ins Leben, sie unterstützen werdende Mütter und Väter bei der Vorbereitung auf einen der aufregendsten Tage im Leben und stehen den frischgebackenen Eltern mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Ein begehrter Beruf, für den sich aktuell bis zu 16 Mal mehr junge Frauen bewerben als Studienplätze vorhanden sind.

ALLER ANFANG stellt vier der Auserwählten vor und taucht dabei jenseits aller Klischees tief in die Frage ein, unter welchen Bedingungen ein so existentielles Geschehen stattfinden sollte. 

Gloria studiert im zweiten Jahr. Sie macht ihr Praktikum im Wiener Wilhelminenspital. Auf der dortigen Geburtenstation geht die Post ab. Die junge Frau lässt sich davon nicht aus der Ruhe bringen. Sie eilt von Raum zu Raum, versorgt Neugeborene und kümmert sich um deren Eltern. Sie absolviert die Visite, bereitet Infusionen vor und untersucht eine Plazenta. Im Einser-Zimmer darf sie den Dammschutz machen und im OP nimmt sie, das eben geholte Kind direkt aus den Händen des Operateurs entgegen.

Josephine hat schon diverse berufliche Erfahrungen gesammelt. Die Entscheidung, Hebamme zu werden, hat sie getroffen nachdem ihr eigenes Kind auf die Welt gekommen war. Während des ersten Studienjahres stellt sie fest, dass eine Geburt, wie sie sie erleben durfte, leider nicht die Regel ist. Die reflektierte junge Frau denkt viel über die Bedingungen nach, unter denen Hebammen in einem auf Effizienz getrimmten Gesundheitssystem arbeiten und was sich ändern müsste.

Magdalena begleiten wir durch ihr drittes Studienjahr. Bei einem Praktikum im Geburtshaus in Wien Hietzing betreut sie Lena, die hier ihr zweites Kind entbindet. Das Baby kommt in der Badewanne auf die Welt und ist überaschenderweise „doch ein Mädchen“. Nach dem Diplom ist Magdalena stolz, sich Hebamme nennen zu dürfen. Demnächst fliegt sie nach Athen, wo sie in einem Flüchtlingslager erste eigenständige Erfahrungen in ihrem Traumberuf sammeln wird.

Esa wollte schon im Kindergarten Hebamme werden. Damals, weil sie Babies mochte, heute geht es ihr in erster Linie um die Frauen. Dass diese zuweilen Übergriffen ausgesetzt sind, macht sie wütend. Ihr Engagement beschränkt sich daher nicht auf die Sonnenseiten des Geburtsgeschehens. Sie setzt sich couragiert auch mit sensiblen Themen wie Gewalt in der Geburtshilfe auseinander.

An der FH proben sie den Ernstfall mit lebensnahen Requisiten und werden von engagierten Lehrenden mit den neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen vertraut gemacht. In der Praxis der geburtshilflichen Wirklichkeit wird davon immer noch zu wenig umgesetzt. Meist liegt das aber nicht am mangelnden Engagement der manchmal recht resignierten Hebammen. Drei Frauen gleichzeitig gut zu betreuen, das kann, so die Lehrbeauftragte Bernadette Brieskorn, „kein Mensch schaffen“

Würden Männer Kinder bekommen, hätte bestimmt jeder seinen eigenen Coach. Davon ist Karin Berghammer, die bei ALLER ANFANG Buch und Regie verantwortet, zutiefst überzeugt. Als ehemalige Hebamme weiß die Filmemacherin genau wovon sie spricht. Der Start ins Leben prägt jede Familie und letztlich uns als Gesellschaft, deshalb ist es höchste Zeit, sich diesen Bereich des Gesundheitswesens genauer anzuschauen

CREW

REGIE & BUCH
Karin Berghammer

DRAMATURGIE
Barbara Eppensteiner

PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG
Konstantin Seitz

KAMERA
Judith Stehlik, aac und Caroline Bobeck, aac

TON
Ines Vorreiter, Nora Czamler, Lenka Mikulova

MONTAGE
Cordula Werner, aea

KOMPOSITION
Christof Dienz

MARIMBA
Vinzent Dienz

TONSCHNITT, SOUNDDESIGN & MISCHUNG
Georg Tomandl

GRADING
Johannes Püller

PRODUKTION 
berg hammer film GmbH

IN KOPRODUKTION MIT
ORF

PRESSE

IJK presse + marketing
Ines Kratzmüller
+43 699 12 64 13 47
ines@kratzmueller.com
www.ijk-presse.com

MIT UNTERSTÜTZUNG VON

© berg hammer film 2020