PREMIERE on GERMAN TELEVISION

NATURAL JUICES - Bodily Fluids sold as Goods will premiere on Wednesday 26.01.2022 at 9.45 pm on ARD alpha on German Television

The Bayrische Rundfunk will show the film again on Wednesday 09.03.2022 at 10.45 pm.

There is no artificial substitute for breast milk, blood and sperm. The three substances can only be obtained from human bodies. They are collected and processed in banks and ultimately end up in other bodies. Karin Berghammer's documentary NATURAL JUICES explores the question of who donates the valuable secretions and who receives them at what price.

https://www.br.de/fernsehen/ard-alpha/programmkalender/ausstrahlung-2738398.html

Women's milk has been collected in Vienna since 1909. Today, donors receive 2.30 euros for one litre. Neonatologist and breast milk researcher Dr. Nadja Haiden from the Medical University of Vienna is campaigning for the continuation of the Europe-wide price fixing for the "extremely valuable" substance. It is important to prevent conditions like those in the USA, where the internet trade in the sought-after substance is taking off. Bodybuilders are prepared to pay up to 170 dollars for a litre. A hefty sum that tempts mothers with no income of their own to take their milk to market. The price for this questionable safeguarding of the family income is paid by their babies: they are fobbed off with cheap formula food.
Besides blood for life-saving blood transfusions, plasma is a sought-after raw material from human bodies. In order for Karin Modl to survive despite her severe immunodeficiency, at least 600 people have to donate plasma every year. And it is not only used in cases that are a matter of life or death. Aesthetic dermatologist Dr Barbara Franz demonstrates its rejuvenating power in a so-called "vampire lift".
For Timo, who was 19 at the time, an advertisement suddenly popped up on Instagram: Become a sperm donor! Curious, he signed a contract with the Erlangen sperm bank. That was two years ago by now, and the 21-year-old now goes to the "extraction room" once a month.

VOD RELEASE

For all those who want to take a look right now, we have some good news: 

NATURAL JUICES is now available on Vimeo on demand !

(Those who are currently residing in Germany will unfortunately have to wait a little longer or watch ARD alpha in January and BR in March).

Director Karin Berghammer | Script & Production Barbara Eppensteiner | After an idea from Irini Athanassakis | Script Advisor Andrea Ernst | Assistant Director & 2nd Camera Zorah Berghammer | DoP Caroline Bobek, aac | Kamera Berlin Ede Müller | Sound Engineers Lenka Mikulová, Ken Rischard | Ton Berlin Patrick Gasada | Editor Gernot Grassl, aea | | Composition Christof Dienz | Sound Editing, Sounddesign & Sound Mixing Georg Tomandl | Color Grading Johannes Püller | Production & Editing Assistant Franziska Aringer | Transcripts Christina BachmannMaurice Chales de Beaulieu | Title & Graphics Eni Brandner | Press Ines Kaizik-Kratzmüller, IJK presse + marketing

Production berg hammer film | in Co-production with ORF & BR

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

BR

Logo Bayrischer Rundfunk

Supported by Land Niederösterreich, Filmfonds Wien & FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA

Erstausstrahlung im Deutschen Fernsehen

TOP SEKRET – Körperflüssigkeiten als Ware wird am Mittwoch, 26.01.2022 um 21.45 Uhr auf ARD alpha erstmals im Deutschen Fernsehen ausgestrahlt!

Der Bayrische Rundfunk zeigt den Film dann noch einmal am Mittwoch, den 09.03.2022 um 22.45 Uhr.

Für Muttermilch, Blut und Sperma gibt es keinen künstlichen Ersatz. Die drei Substanzen können nur aus menschlichen Körpern gewonnen werden. Sie werden in Banken gesammelt und aufbereitet und landen letztlich in anderen Körpern. Karin Berghammers Dokumentarfilm TOP SEKRET geht der Frage nach, wer die wertvollen Sekrete spendet und wer sie um welchen Preis erhält.

https://www.br.de/fernsehen/ard-alpha/programmkalender/ausstrahlung-2738398.html

In Wien wird seit 1909 Frauenmilch gesammelt. Für einen Liter bekommen Spenderinnen heute 2,30 Euro. Neonatologin und Muttermilchforscherin Dr. Nadja Haiden von der Medizinischen Universität Wien setzt sich für einen Fortbestand der europaweiten Preisbindung für die „extrem wertvolle“ Substanz ein. Es gilt Zustände wie in den USA zu verhindern, wo der Internethandel mit dem begehrten Stoff wilde Blüten treibt. Bodybuilder sind bereit, bis zu 170 Dollar für einen Liter zu bezahlen. Eine stolze Summe, die Mütter ohne eigenes Einkommen dazu verführt, ihre Milch zu Markte zu tragen. Den Preis für diese fragwürdige Sicherung des Familieneinkommens zahlen ihre Babys: Sie werden mit billiger Formula-Nahrung abgespeist.
Neben Blut für lebensrettende Bluttransfusionen ist Plasma ein begehrter Rohstoff aus menschlichen Körpern. Damit Karin Modl trotz ihres schweren Immundefekts überleben kann, müssen jedes Jahr mindestens 600 Menschen Plasma spenden. Und es kommt nicht nur dort zum Einsatz, wo es um Leben oder Tod geht. Die ästhetische Dermatologin Dr. Barbara Franz demonstriert seine verjüngende Kraft beim sogenannten „Vampirlifting“.
Beim damals 19-jährigen Timo hat sich auf Instagram plötzlich eine Werbung geöffnet: Werden Sie Samenspender! Neugierig geworden hat er einen Vertrag mit der Erlanger Samenbank abgeschlossen. Das ist jetzt zwei Jahre her, und der nunmehr 21-Jährige begibt sich einmal pro Monat in den „Gewinnungsraum“. Wenn sein Sperma auch diesmal wieder den definierten Qualitätskriterien entspricht.

VOD RELEASE

Für alle, die gleich rein schauen wollen, haben wir noch eine gute Nachricht: 

TOP SEKRET ist jetzt auf Vimeo on demand verfügbar!

(Wer gerade in Deutschland residiert muss sich leider noch etwas gedulden bzw. im Januar auf ARD alpha und im März auf BR reinschauen)

Regie Karin Berghammer | Buch & Produktionsleitung Barbara Eppensteiner | nach einer Idee von Irini Athanassakis | Dramaturgische Beratung Andrea Ernst | Regieassistenz & 2. Kamera Zorah Berghammer | Kamera Caroline Bobek, aac | Kamera Berlin Ede Müller | Ton Lenka Mikulová, Ken Rischard | Ton Berlin Patrick Gasada | Montage Gernot Grassl, aea | Musik Christof Dienz | Tonschnitt, Sounddesign & Mischung Georg Tomandl | Farbkorrektur Johannes Püller | Produktions- & Schnittassistenz Franziska Aringer | Transkriptionen Christina BachmannMaurice Chales de Beaulieu | Titel & Graphik Eni Brandner | Presse Ines Kaizik-Kratzmüller, IJK presse + marketing

Produktion berg hammer film | in Koproduktion mit ORF & BR

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

BR

Logo Bayrischer Rundfunk

mit Unterstützung von Land Niederösterreich, Filmfonds Wien & FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA