Müll & Poesie

MÜLL & POESIE

An TV documentary in production

SYNOPSIS

The documentary film MÜLL & POESIE looks at where and how the waste of our affluent society is collected, transported, sorted, processed, recycled, and transformed and looks for differences and similarities in waste management in cities and rural areas.

Our companion on this journey is the artist and philosopher ELISABETH VON SAMSONOWWith her we move in great peristaltic movements through a thematic field that has long been a subject of her cultural studies. We observe her in communication with the actors of waste management and in the manifold steps on the way to clarification, incineration, or a new destination. Her precise and yet always affectionate gaze extracts a lot of wit from the details and at the same time explores illuminating anthropological and cultural-theoretical dimensions.

The philosopher's gaze and thoughts reveal new angles on the question of what happens to what we discard from our lives and who are those who take care of it. Samsonow identifies the discarded as the excrement of our society and admires those who deal with it on a daily basis. For her goal of inciting a collective consciousness-raising debate about waste and the circular economy, reuse, and upcycling, she unhesitatingly climbs both deep into the sewers and high on a crane. She approaches the taboos and dark sides of the subject with cheerfulness and yet always remains grounded.

The people who share their daily work with us are also in good spirits. They all like what they do and are happy that someone is interested in them and their activities. From Sara Jäger, a rubbish truck driver at Saubermacher, to Arpad Horvath, who is on the road with the "sweeping task force" in the Graz city park, to wine grower and compost specialist Fred Loimer; from the goat caretaker on the Rautenweg to the St. Andräe Wördern scrap metal artist Stefan Novak: our companions of the discarded are experts in their field. They are passionate about what they do and communicate at eye level with the philosopher. Since their activities also have a lot to offer in terms of visual fascination, the subject matter calls for a film to be made of it.

CREW

WRITTEN & DIRECTED BY
Karin Berghammer

SCRIPT & PRODUCTION MANAGER
Barbara Eppensteiner

DOP
Krisztina Kerekes

Editor
Cordula Werner

SOUND
Gerd Jochum

PRODUCTION ASSISTANT & ASSISTANT EDITOR
Franziska Teresa Aringer

MUSIC
Christof Dienz

COLOR GRADING
Johannes Püller

SOUND DESIGNG & SOUND MIXING
Christofer Frank

PRODUCTION

IN COPRODUCTION WITH

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

SUPPORTED BY

Müll & Poesie

MÜLL & POESIE

Ein TV-Dokumentarfilm in Produktion

SYNOPSIS

Der Dokumentarfilm mit dem Arbeitstitel MÜLL & POESIE schaut sich an wo und wie die Rückstände unserer Wohlstandsgesellschaft gesammelt, transportiert, sortiert, aufbereitet, wiederverwertet und transformiert werden und sucht nach Unterschieden und Gemeinsamkeiten der Abfallwirtschaft in Stadt und Land.

Unsere Wegbegleiterin auf dieser Reise ist die Künstlerin und Philosophin ELISABETH VON SAMSONOW. Mit ihr bewegen wir uns in großen peristaltischen Bewegungen durch ein thematisches Feld, das sie schon lange kulturwissenschaftlich begleitet. Wir beobachten sie in Kommunikation mit den Akteur*innen der Abfallwirtschaft und bei den vielfältigen Arbeitsschritten auf dem Weg zur Klärung, Verbrennung oder neuen Bestimmung. Ihr genauer und doch stets liebevoller Blick gewinnt den Details viel Witz ab und dringt gleichzeitig in erhellende anthropologische und kulturtheoretische Dimensionen vor.

Der Blick und die Gedanken der Philosophin eröffnen neue Betrachtungswinkel auf die Frage was mit dem passiert, was wir aus unseren Leben ausscheiden und wer diejenigen sind, die sich darum kümmern. Samsonow identifiziert das Weggeworfene als Exkrement unserer Gesellschaft und bewundert die, die sich tagtäglich damit beschäftigen. Für ihr Ziel, eine das kollektive Bewusstsein schärfende Debatte über Verschwendung und Kreislaufwirtschaft, ReUse und Upcycling anzuzetteln, steigt sie ohne zu zögern sowohl tief in die Kanalisation, als auch hoch auf einen Kran. Den Tabus und dunklen Seiten der Thematik nähert sie sich frohen Mutes und bleibt dabei trotzdem stets am Boden.

Gut gelaunt sind auch die Menschen, die uns an ihrem Arbeitsalltag teilhaben lassen. Sie alle mögen, was sie tun und freuen sich, dass sich jemand für sie und ihre Tätigkeiten interessiert. Von Sara Jäger, einer Müllwagenlenkerinnen bei Saubermacher über Arpad Horvath, der mit der “kehr-task-force” im Grazer Stadtpark unterwegs ist, bis hin zum Weinbauern und Kompostspezialisten Fred Loimer; Vom Ziegenbetreuer am Rautenweg bis zum St. Andräe Wördener Schrottkünstler Stefan Novak: Unsere Wegbegleiter des Verworfenen sind Expert*innen in ihrem Bereich. Sie brennen für das, was sie tun und kommunizieren auf Augenhöhe mit der Philosophin. Da ihre Tätigkeiten auch visuell viel Faszinierendes zu bieten haben, ruft die Thematik geradezu danach, einen Film daraus zu machen.

CREW

BUCH & REGIE
Karin Berghammer

DRAMATURGIE & PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG
Barbara Eppensteiner

KAMERA
Krisztina Kerekes

Montage
Cordula Werner

TON
Gerd Jochum

PRODUKTIONS- UND SCHNITTASSISTENZ
Franziska Teresa Aringer

MUSIK
Christof Dienz

FARBKORREKTUR
Johannes Püller

SOUNDDESIGN & MISCHUNG
Christofer Frank

PRODUKTION

in KOPRODUKTION mit

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

MIT UNTERSTÜTZUNG VON