Guter Hoffnung

We Deliver

TV-series in development

SYNOPSIS

Vienna 1978.
Two rebellious midwives.
A rigid system.
Let the games begin!

A young, bluff German midwife and a seemingly well-behaved Austrian midwife collide in a small Viennese community hospital, where they ultimately team up to revolutionize obstetrics against all odds.

Maike is not a midwife, she is an obsessed midwife. Obsessed with the idea that her profession is not a job, but her vocation. At the Dr. Carl Braun Hospital in Vienna, of all places, she wants to save the world. Non-violent obstetrics: by force if necessary.

Although the women's movement had achieved a great deal by 1978 – the introduction of the "Fristenlösung", a new divorce law and the first female "Tatort" crime scene investigator on TV – antiquated values and gender images prevail in the Viennese hospital. The hospital is conservative, but at least her colleague Hannah is open-minded. The two are fundamentally different: The "freshly caught" Maike, equipped with proper German ambition, wants to have her way, no matter what. The path of the experienced Hannah is one of diplomacy and conflict avoidance. She prefers to divert attention away from herself and has become a master at operating secretly behind the scenes. The German-Austrian culture clash brings up its own conflicts, which neither Maike nor Hannah find particularly amusing. They will have to work together if they want to stand up to the authorities in the hospital and the medical establishment.

They don't have to look too far for a counterforce. Their chief physician, Dr. Gerulf Weißenböck, sees himself as the autocratic god-king of the maternity ward, and head midwife Thea Heidemann is his loyal adjutant. While Weißenböck is an excellent surgeon, his female patients are the weak sex for him, dependent on being saved by him. The other doctors play along willy-nilly. The working methods of Thea and her subordinates Helene and Maria are still soaked in Nazi thinking: Women giving birth are enemies that have to be processed and subdued. No wonder that Anita, the youngest midwife in the team, is just waiting to get away.

Many obstacles open up before Maike and Hannah and they also clash several times: Maike is as impetuous as Hannah is hesitant. With her uncontrollable repartee the young German regularly gets herself into conflicts and repeatedly puts her job on the line. Hannah, on the other hand, shies away from confrontation and loses confidence when the goings get tough. But together they don't let it bring them down and they act with subversive vigor and, last but not least, with blarney and wit.

CREW

WRITTEN BY
Karin Berghammer, Mika Kallwass & Petra Ladinigg

PRODUCTION

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

Barbara Pichler & Gabriele Kranzelbinder | KGP

logo

Christine Kiauk | COIN FILM

COIN-FILM-Logo_02

IN COPRODUCTION WITH

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

Development supported by

sources-2

Guter Hoffnung

Guter Hoffnung

fiktionale TV-Serie in Entwicklung

SYNOPSIS

Wien 1978.
Zwei rebellische Hebammen.
Ein verkrustetes System.
Let the games begin!

Eine blutjunge, raubeinige deutsche und eine scheinbar brave, österreichische Hebamme kollidieren in einem kleinen Wiener Gemeindespital, wo sie sich letztlich zusammenraufen, um entgegen aller Widerstände die Geburtshilfe zu revolutionieren.

Maike ist keine Hebamme, sie ist eine besessene Hebamme. Besessen von der Idee, dass ihr Beruf kein Beruf, sondern ihre Berufung ist. Ausgerechnet im Wiener Dr.-Carl-Braun-Spital will sie die Welt retten. Gewaltfreie Geburtshilfe: notfalls mit Gewalt.

Obwohl die Frauenbewegung bis 1978 einiges erreicht hat und es die Fristenlösung, ein neues Scheidungsrecht und die erste Tatort-Kommissarin gibt, herrschen in dem Wiener Krankenhaus antiquierte Werte und Geschlechterbilder. So konservativ das Spital, so aufgeschlossen ihre Kollegin Hannah. Die beiden sind grundverschieden: Die „frischgefangene“ Maike will, mit ordentlich deutschem Ehrgeiz ausgestattet, geradlinig mit dem Kopf durch die Wand. Der Weg der erfahrenen Hannah ist jener der Diplomatie und Konfliktvermeidung. Sie zieht es vor, die Aufmerksamkeit von sich wegzulenken und versteht es mittlerweile, meisterhaft heimlich hintenrum zu agieren. Der deutsch-österreichische Culture-Clash ruft ganz eigene Konflikte auf den Plan, die weder Maike noch Hannah lustig finden. Sie werden zusammenarbeiten müssen, wenn sie den Obrigkeiten im Krankenhaus und dem medizinischen Establishment die Stirn bieten wollen.

Die Gegenwehr müssen sie nicht lange suchen. Ihr Chefarzt, Dr. Gerulf Weißenböck, sieht sich als autokratischer Gottkönig der Geburtenabteilung und Oberhebamme Thea Heidemann ist seine treue Adjutantin. Während Weißenböck ein hervorragender Operateur ist, sind seine Patientinnen für ihn doch das schwache Geschlecht, das auf seine Rettung angewiesen ist. Die anderen Ärzte spielen wohl oder übel mit. Die Arbeitsweisen von Thea und ihren Untergebenen Helene und Maria sind noch vom NS-Gedankengut getränkt: Gebärende sind der Feind, den es abzuarbeiten und ruhig zu stellen gilt. Kein Wunder, dass Anita, die jüngste Hebamme im Team, nur darauf wartet, das Weite suchen zu können.

Viele Hindernisse tun sich vor Maike und Hannah auf und sie geraten auch mehrmals aneinander: Maike ist so ungestüm, wie Hannah zögerlich. Die junge Deutsche bringt sich durch ihre unkontrollierbare Schlagfertigkeit regelmäßig in Autoritätskonflikte und setzt dabei immer wieder ihre Stelle aufs Spiel. Hannah hingegen scheut die Konfrontation und verliert das Selbstvertrauen, wenn es drauf ankommt. Aber gemeinsam lassen sie sich nicht unterkriegen und agieren mit subversiver Tatkraft und nicht zuletzt mit Witz und Schmäh.

CREW

AUTOR*INNEN
Karin Berghammer, Mika Kallwass & Petra Ladinigg

PRODUKTION

Karin Berghammer | berg hammer film

BHFi Logo

Barbara Pichler & Gabriele Kranzelbinder | KGP

logo

Christine Kiauk | COIN FILM

COIN-FILM-Logo_02

in KOPRODUKTION mit

ORF

1200px-ORF_logo.svg

Entwicklung gefördert von

sources-2